Latest News

Mnangagwa govt-backed Khupe recalls 11 MDC Alliance councillors

MDC-T interim leader, Dr Thokozani Khupe, with President Emmerson Mnangagwa. The Zanu-PF leader has proven to be Khupe and the MDC-T’s biggest benefactor and political ally.

The MDC-T led by interim president, Dr Thokozani Khupe, has recalled Harare deputy mayor and Ward 35 Councillor Enoch Mupamawonde and 10 others.

This is despite the expiry of a Supreme Court ruling that gave temporary life to the opposition MDC-T structures of 2014 for the purposes of convening an elective congress.

The Supreme Court in March this year gave Khupe the leadership of the MDC-T and ordered it to hold an election to replace him within three months. Despite the expiry of the grace period, the Zanu-PF government has been highly amendable to Khupe’s party and endorsed its recall of MDC Alliance MPs and councillors.

Also recalled are Councillors Steven Dhliwayo (Ward 40), Barnabas Ndira (Ward 21), Chihoma Runyowa (Ward 29) and Charles Nyatsuro (Ward 6).
Harare City Council is now left with 27 councillors as other seven were also recalled last month.

The seven are; former mayor Hebert Gomba, Lovemore Makuwerere, Hammy Madzingira, Costa Mande, Kudzai Kadzombe, Happymore Gotora and Gilbert Hadebe.

A quorum is supposed to made up of 17 councillors.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *